Gay Son of “Proud Homophobe” Comes Out

11 Oct

Remember the physics professor who was asked to be a part of the team seeking solutions to the BP drilling disaster?  His name is Jonathan Katz and he wrote an article which ended with “I am a proud homophobe.”   Because of the bitterly homophobic essay Professor Katz was kicked off the team regarding the BP spill. 
 
Guess who has a gay son?   I’m sure you are way ahead of me. 
 
 

By Isaac Katz:

“It is harder to stay away from homosexuals, I would imagine, when your son is one. When I told my dad I was gay, his immediate response was, “No, you’re not.” (My mom, by the way, was and is more supportive.) When my insistence finally overrode his denials, he echoed his online essay that I should deny who I am rather than to engage in an act so abhorrent as to love another man.

[…] I can’t change my dad’s thoughts about homosexuality overnight. Underlying his opinions and those of other homophobes is the belief that homosexuality is not ingrained within gay men and women, that someone attracted to people of the same sex should simply choose not to be a “practicing homosexual.” That this idea is absurd should be obvious to all straight people, unless they can identify a time in their lives when they chose to be straight and not gay, and would gladly become intimate with a same-sex partner if only they chose to.”

Leave a Reply

